Print Back to Calendar Return
RFD- 3929 Business Items   Item #   11. e.    
Regular Council Meeting Agenda
Meeting Date: 03/23/2020  
Title:    Community Road Safety Advisory Committee Public Member Appointments - Wolanski
Department: Community & Protective Services  
Strategic Vision Element: Where People Choose to Live - A dynamic city with an exceptional quality of life Related Goal: Citizens feel safe within their communities.

Request for Decision Summary
Administration provided received submissions for the Community Road Safety Advisory Committee for Council's review and appointment.

Proposed Motion
That the following Spruce Grove residents be appointed to the Community Road Safety Advisory Committee for a three-year term ending December 31, 2022: Lorne Corbett; Nadia Geschke; Dave Hackett; Melissa Johnson; Ken Mark; Amber Prue; Denise Walker.
The Community Road Safety Advisory Committee was recently approved by Bylaw. The Bylaw calls for public members equaling “no less than five and up to seven”. The City received a total of 18 applications. Due to the number of applications, administration did not conduct interviews, but did bring forward the applications with a summary of the candidates for Council’s input and direction. 
The Bylaw also details the following in regards to consideration of candidates:
  1. Public members must be residents of Spruce Grove.
  2. Public members must not be current employees of the City and must not have been employed by the City for a minimum of 12 months prior to applying for a Public Member position.
  3. When making appointments to the committee, Council will consider individuals that have a demonstrated interest and commitment to road safety representing cross-sections of the community.
During the February 24, 2020 and March 9, 2020 Council Meetings (closed sessions) Council arrived at a consensus on the seven names presented and provided direction for Administration to notify the Community Road Safety Advisory Committee applicants of their pending status on the committee with the decision to be ratified at the March 23, 2020 Council Meeting.

In regards to term lengths, the Bylaw also indicates that "Council will appoint Public Members for a three year term on rotating basis where possible so as not to have all Public Members depart the Committee at the same time."  As this is a new committee and the Bylaw does not speak to terms less than three years, it is being recommended that all seven members are appointed at this time.  It is anticipated that there may be natural attrition of members over the three year period of time or from appointments made to renew or not to renew a second term therefore achieving the staggered terms in either scenario.  
The City advertised for public members from December 17, 2019 to January 15, 2020 and then extended the deadline to January 31, 2020.
Administration will contact the applicants to notify them of their status on the Committee as per Council's direction. Arrangements will be made to start to process following the motion to appoint.  Administration will assist in getting the Committee up and running as quickly as possible.
No file(s) attached.

City Council and Committee of the Whole agendas and minutes are posted on the City of Spruce Grove website for information purposes only. These agendas may be changed at the discretion of Council by the addition or deletion of items. Anyone reviewing the draft agenda should do so on the understanding that it is subject to change by Council.

All attachments are in PDF format, and require the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in for viewing.

Audio from the most recent City Council and Committee of the Whole meetings are available via podcast on the City of Spruce Grove website.

AgendaQuick©2005 - 2020 Destiny Software Inc., All Rights Reserved